
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

BURGLAR ALARM BUSINESS LICENSE INFORMATION 
 
 
Dear Inquirer: 

 
Thank you for your interest in applying for an Alarm Systems Business License.  The following information is provided to give 
you a quick review of the licensing requirements.  However, as an applicant and potential licensee, you are expected to meet all 
the requirements of the Alarm Systems Licensing Act, G.S. 74D and the Administrative Rules and Regulations, 14B NCAC 17.  
(A copy is enclosed.) 
 
I. Burglar Alarm Business License Experience 

A. Burglar Alarm Experience - Applicant must establish to the Board's satisfaction two years’ experience within the past 
five years in alarm systems installation, service or alarm systems business management. If the applicant cannot 
establish this experience, the applicant must provide verification of completion of the completion of the North Carolina 
Security and Low Voltage Association “Certified Alarm Technician Level I” course, or the ELITE CEU “Alarm 
Level I” course, or the Complete Electrical Academy “Level I Training” course.” 
  

B. Low Voltage Experience - An applicant or an employee of the company in which the applicant intends to do business, 
must hold a North Carolina Electrical Contractors License in one of the following categories: Unlimited, Limited, 
Intermediate or SP-Low Voltage. If the applicant does not hold one of the above licenses or the company does not 
employ an individual with one of the above licenses, the applicant should contact the N.C. State Board of Examiners of 
Electrical Contractors at 919-733-9042 to apply for one of the above licenses. 

Important Note: The Level I Course must be taken through the NC Electronic Security Association in the State 
of North Carolina.  Level I courses taken in any other states are not acceptable.    

  
II. Be at least 18 years of age and a high school graduate or equivalent. 
 
III. Be a US citizen or resident alien. 
 
IV. Be of good moral character and temperate habits.  (No criminal record, Etc.) 
 

If, after reviewing the above requirements, you determine that you qualify, the following information and documentation 
must be submitted with your online application (use this as a check list): 

 
A. Complete the online application. (ASLB Online Applications  (link: https://aslbapplication.permitium.com/aslb/start)  

 
B. One completed Federal Bureau of Investigation Form FD 258 fingerprint card. (All data must be complete, accurate 

and readable.) A card can be purchased from a vendor, but it must be an FD-258 fingerprint card. In addition, the 
applicant must sign and submit the SBI Release of Information form. 

 
C. A digital photograph will need to be uploaded with your application. The photograph must be current with no caps or 

hats being worn.  Paper photographs, polaroids’ and other similar types of photos are not acceptable. 
  

D. Proof of high school graduation, general education certificate or proof of graduation from an accredited college or 
university. (Document must be uploaded during the application process) 

 
E. Documentation verifying legal resident alien status (if not a US citizen). (Document must be uploaded during the 

application process) 
 

F. DD 214 (if veteran or discharged).  If you are currently in the military, you must submit a letter from your commanding 
officer. (Document must be uploaded during the application process) 

 
G. A $150.00 non-refundable application fee and an additional $38.00 fee for an SBI/FBI fingerprint check will be 

payable upon the completion of the online application. 
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H. A copy of your company’s current North Carolina Electrical Contractors license. (Document must be uploaded during 

the application process) 
 

I. Applicants must sign two release statements. A signed and notarized ASL release of records form provided by this 
office (Document must be uploaded during the application process).   In addition, the applicant must sign the SBI 
release of records information form. (Document must be mailed into the office) 
 

J. All applicants must obtain a criminal record check for the past sixty (60) months. All criminal records must be 
obtained from https://crclicensing.com/site/ppsb. You must order your criminal record via the internet. For any 
additional questions, call 1-877-272-0266, ext. 1029. 

 
K. Every business entity must obtain a company business license to engage in an alarm systems business within North 

Carolina.  There is no fee for issuance of the company business license.  The only business that is exempted from the 
rule is a sole proprietorship where the owner is the licensee. Attach the proper forms either the Certificate of Authority 
from the North Carolina Secretary of State if out of state corporation or a copy of your Articles of Incorporation if it is 
a North Carolina Corporation. Complete company business application, if applicable. (Document must be uploaded 
during the application process) 

 
L. The enclosed Personal Reference Questionnaire is to be completed by each of the references you have listed on the 

application. (Document must be uploaded during the application process) 
 

 
If you have any further questions, you should contact the Licensing Unit of the North Carolina Alarm Systems Licensing Board 
at (919)788-5320. 

 
Sincerely, 
 

 
 
Paul Sherwin 
Director 
 

 

 
 

  


