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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS  

Probation Parole Officer  

Probation Parole Associate 
 

1. How long does it take to have my application reviewed? 

The probation/parole officer/associate position posts continuously, and Community Corrections staff 

screens applications as they come in. Please note: 

• Applications are screened daily in the order in which they are received; and 

• The length of time varies depending on the number of applications received. 

 

2. How do I check the status of my application? 

You can log in to the state application website and access your account. Click on your name in the 

upper right corner, then click “applications.” 

 

3. What does “Under Review” mean? 

“Under Review” means that your application has been received and is in the screening or background 

check process. There is nothing else you need to do. 

 

4. What does “Not Qualified” mean? 

“Not Qualified” means that: 

• The information submitted on your application indicates you do not have the education and/or 

experience required to meet the minimum criteria; 

• You checked “yes” to having a DUI, DWI or a felony;  

• You have more than 6 points on your North Carolina driver’s license;  

• You are not a U.S. or naturalized citizen; 

• Your application is incomplete;    

• Your background indicated you are not suitable for the job of a probation/parole 

officer/associate. You may reapply in 12 months after your application expires. 

 

5. What does “Eligible” mean? 

 It means that you possess the education and/or experience required for the job.   

 

6. Can I edit my application once it's submitted? 

Applications are accepted for the probation/parole officer and probation/parole associate positions 

once in a 12-month period. To update your contact information, you can log in to the system. If you 

would like to add or delete your county selection, please send us an email. No other changes are 

permitted to a submitted application. If you have made an error, you can create a new account and 

submit a revised application. 

 

7. Must I attach documents to my application such as transcripts or DD 214 Form? 

To receive veteran’s preference, we must have your DD 214.   

North Carolina Department of Public Safety 
 

 

Community Corrections 

https://www.governmentjobs.com/careers/northcarolina?keywords=probation
mailto:ProbationParoleApplicant@ncdps.gov


February 2022  

To receive National Guard preference, we must have a NGB 23A (RPAS). If you are a former member of 

the NC National Guard who served for at least 6 years and were discharged under honorable 

conditions, we must have either a DD256 or NGB 22. 

 

Transcripts are only required if you have a human service degree that requires us to verify that you have 

24 credit hours of related experience (see question 10 below).   

 

Documents may be faxed to us at 919-324-6250 or emailed to us. We can attach these documents to 

your application for you. 

 

8. When does my application expire? 

Applications are valid for 12 months from the date you applied. After that time, you will need to reapply. 

 

9. What qualifies as related work experience to be qualified to be a probation/parole officer? 

The following are examples of jobs that qualify as related work experience. All experiences must be 

clearly listed on your application. 

• State or federal probation/parole officer; 

• Judicial services coordinator (must have at least two years’ experience); 

• Juvenile court counselor; 

• Powers of arrest in either law enforcement or with the military (you must indicate this 

experience in the body of your application); 

• Social work experience, drug treatment court counselor, counseling clients/offenders; 

• Court experience (e.g. police officer, drug court); 

• Clinical case management with clients/offenders; 

• Developing person-centered plans or treatment plans for clients/offenders; 

• North Carolina correctional officer as a sergeant, lieutenant or captain (must have at least two 

years of experience, with a related degree in criminal justice, correctional services, psychology 

or social work); 

• DPS correctional case manager, programs, unit manager;  

• Human services counseling experience (adults or juveniles); 

• Magistrate; 

• Law; or 

• Master’s degree in criminal justice, correctional services, psychology, social work or another 

related human services major from an accredited college or university. 

 

Examples of jobs we do not count as related work experience include security or detention officer, food 

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) case worker, intake specialist case worker, 

habilitation specialist, detective and county/community jailer. 

 

10.  What coursework qualifies for the probation/parole officer? 

Some human services degrees require you to attach your transcripts. Examples are: 

• Criminology 

• Law 

• Political science 

• Race and ethnic relations 
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• Social science 

• Sociology 

• Special education 

• State government 

• Therapeutic education 

 

You must have at least 24 semester hours in criminal justice, psychology or social work. 

 

11. Do my transcripts need to be “official”? 

During the application process, we do not need official or certified transcripts. Transcripts are 

sometimes needed during screening to verify related course work. 

 

Q12. Why do I qualify for a probation/parole officer but I don’t qualify for probation/parole associate? 

The probation/parole officer requires a related bachelor’s degree and at least one year of experience as 

stated above. Unrelated degrees are accepted with sufficient (36 months) related experience. The 

probation/parole associate requires a specific degree (criminal justice, psychology, sociology or social 

work) and experience is not considered. Persons with unrelated degrees are ruled “not qualified” for 

the probation/parole associate. 

 

Q13. What tests will I have to take as part of the application process? 

Qualified applicants will be required to log in to a website to access three pre-screening assessments. 

You will be notified via email with instructions and login instructions. There are no costs to the 

applicant associated with these assessments. Applicants should allow at least 3-4 hours to complete the 

assessments, which are: 

1. “BRAINS” 

2. NC DOJ F-3 Personal History Questionnaire 

3. CPI Evaluation 

 

Q14.  What happens after the interview? 

After the interview, you will receive communication via phone or email. If you are not selected, this 

could mean that there are not any vacancies in the counties that you selected. If you are otherwise 

qualified, your application will be “banked” for 12 months until there is a vacant position. 

Unfortunately, we are unable to hire everyone. Should your application expire while you are on the 

eligible list, please submit a new application. 
 

Learn more   
 

All decisions are made without regard to race, color, religion, creed, national origin, sex, age, disability or 

political affiliation/influence. Decisions are based upon job-related criteria in order to comply with all federal 

and state employment laws, regulation, rules and policies, and to promote fairness, diversity and integrity. 

 

https://youtu.be/YJCa6thq4Cc

