If.Crime Strikes...
You Can

North Carolina Coalition Against Sexual Assault
1-919-870-8881 H eI I
www.nccasa.org I '
.

NC Statewide Automated Victim
Assistance and Notification (NC SAVAN)
1-877-NCSAVAN
(1-877-627-2826)
WWwWw.ncsavan.org

N.C. Department of Public Safety
Victims Compensation Services
1-800-826-6200

(919) 733-7974

(919) 715-4209 (Fax)

DPS

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY www.ncdps.gov/victimservices
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ﬂ a crime victim to qualify for compensation, the offense must have been State assistance shall be denied or reduced to the extent the medical expenses are

committed in North Carolina and reported to law enforcement recouped through a public or private insurance plan or other victim benefit source.

within 72 hours. In addition, a victim or claimant is not eligible if he or she:

The claimant of a deceased innocent victim may qualify to « fails to file within two years from the date of the incident

receive compensation for funeral expenses up to $5,000. « does not incur economic loss within one year, (some exceptions are made for

Victims of driving while impaired offenses or victims under the age of 10)

pedestrian, wheelchair or bicycle hit-and-run offenses « contributes to the criminal conduct or was participating in criminal activity or
may be eligible. contributed to the misconduct at the time of the incident

« is the offender or accomplice
Others who may file a claim include an authorized
representative or a third person who provided benefit to

the victim or his/her family other than in the course of his employment, business
or profession.  the award would benefit the offender or their accomplice

 does not provide requested information or cooperate with the Crime Victims
Compensation staff

« is a prisoner in any state, county or city prison, correctional, youth services or

o)} juvenile facility, or local confinement facility, half-way house, group home or
m— similar facility when the crime occurred

Qualifying applicants may receive compensation for medical expenses, counseling,
lost wages, funeral expenses, prosthetics, eyeglasses, dental work, hospital bed
fees and crime scene cleanup.

Every claim filed will be investigated to verify that a crime was committed and that

Personal property losses are not compensated, nor any reimbursement for pain it resulted in emotional or physical injury or death.
or suffering. The investigation will also examine whether the victim contributed to his or her
Medical expenses incurred as a result of injuries are eligible for payment if within injuries, if the injuries were sustained during an illegal activity or if any other crime
ONE YEAR FROM THE CRIME DATE. was being committed at the time of the incident.
Exception: Childrep 10 or younger are eligible up to two If a false claim is deliberately filed, the claimant will be subject to prosecution, the
years from the crime date. claim will be denied and the claimant will have to repay any
ded.
A maximum of $30,000 may be paid for any award, rhoney awarde
except when the victim dies as a result of the crime.
In that case, an additional $5,000 may be paid
toward funeral expenses. 01

Funds are paid directly to the provider for unpaid
balances, and claims are paid as funds are available.



