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Lesson Purpose: To provide the security guard with a working knowledge of the 

requirements to become a security guard as set forth in Chapter 

74C of the North Carolina General Statutes. 

 

Training Objectives: At the end of this block of instruction, the student will be able to 

achieve the following objectives in accordance with the 

information received during the instructional period. 

 

1. List four functions of the security guard. 

 

2. List four items that must be provided to the Private 

Protective Services Board within 30 days of employment. 

 

3. List three minimum standards for registration as a security 

guard. 
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I. Introduction 

  

  

A. Opening Statement 

 

In order to become a security guard in North Carolina, each applicant must meet 

minimum standards as set forth in Chapter 74C, the Private Protective Services 

Act, Title 14B, North Carolina Administrative Code.  This section of the 

Administrative Code details the procedure for an applicant who seeks to become a 

security guard. 

 

B. Training Objectives 

 

C. Reasons 

 

 As with any profession, there are standards that must be met in order to be 

employed in that particular profession.  Security guards are no exception.  

Standards are incorporated into the North Carolina Administrative Code which 

governs those minimum requirements for employment as well as defining 

requirements of the job. 

 

II. Body 

 

A. Private Security in North Carolina 

   

   

The governing statute for private security in North Carolina is Chapter 74C, 

known as the Private Protective Services Act, Title 14B, North Carolina 

Administrative Code, Chapter 16.  According to this section, “no private person, 

firm, association, or corporation shall engage in, perform any services as, or in 

any way represent or hold itself out as engaging in a private protective services 

profession or activity in this State without having first complied with the 

provisions of this Chapter.”i 

 

B. Functions of the Security Guard and Patrol Profession in North Carolina 

   

   

In North Carolina, “Security Guard and Patrol” refers to a “person, firm, 

association, or corporation that provides a security guard on a contractual basis 

for another person, firm, association, or corporation for a fee or other valuable 

consideration and performing one or more of the following functions: 
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1. Prevention or detection of intrusion, entry, larceny, vandalism, abuse, fire, 

or trespass on private property; 

 

2. Prevention, observation, or detection of any unauthorized activity on 

private property; 

 

3. Protection of patrons and persons lawfully authorized to be on the 

premises of the person, firm, association, or corporation that entered into 

the contract for security services; or 

 

4. Control, regulation, or direction of the flow or movement of the public, 

whether by vehicle or otherwise, only to the extent and for the time 

directly and specifically required to assure the protection of properties.” 

 

C. Registration of security guards 

   

A company is required to register employees within 30 days of employment 

according to regulations as set forth 74C-11.  The employer must provide to the 

Private Protective Services Board the following:ii 

 

1. “Set(s) of fingerprints on standard F.B.I. applicant cards; recent 

photograph(s) of acceptable quality for identification; and 

 

2. Upload online a statement of the results of a statewide criminal history 

records search by the reporting service designated by the Board for each 

state where the applicant has resided within the preceding 48 months; 

   

3. Each employer or his designee shall submit an online application for the 

registration of each employee to the Board.  The applicant's copy of the 

application and completed affidavit form shall serve as a temporary 

registration card that shall be carried by the applicant when he or she is 

working within the scope of his or her employment and shall be exhibited 

upon the request of any law enforcement officer or authorized 

representative of the Board.  The PPS Board will determine if the 

applicant meets the qualifications and criteria as set forth by the Board and 

then have the registration card sent to the applicant.  The card is valid for 

one year and then must renewed. 

   

If an individual is properly registered or licensed in another state as a security 

guard, that individual can be employed as an unarmed security guard in North 

Carolina for a period of up to ten days in any given month, provided the company 

notifies the PPS Board, and the Director approves it.  The employer, however, 
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must be a licensee in the State of North Carolina and that licensee cannot employ 

an individual as an unarmed security guard for a period exceeding 30 days in any 

calendar year without registering that employee, provided the Director is given 

quarterly reports. 

 

The PPS Board must be notified of the termination or resignation of any 

employee registered as a security guard.  This must take place within ten (10) 

days of departure. 

 

Individuals who are sworn court officials or hold a company police commission 

under Chapter 74E of the General Statutes may not be issued a license.  Law 

enforcement officers of the United States or of this state or any other state may 

not be issued a Private Investigator or Security Guard and Patrol license. 

 

D. Minimum Standards for Registration as a security guard 

 

   

The following are the minimum standards an individual must meet to be 

registered in North Carolina as a security guard. 

     

1. Be at least 18 years of age;   

  

2. Be a citizen of the United States or a Resident Alien, with a valid Resident 

Alien Identification Card. 

 

3. Be of good moral character and temperate habits.  Any of the following 

within the last five years will be considered evidence that the applicant 

does not have good moral character or habits: 

   

a. Conviction by any local, state, Federal, or military court of any 

crime involving the illegal use, carrying, or possession of a 

firearm; 

 

b. Conviction of any crime involving the illegal use, possession, sale, 

manufacture, distribution, or transportation of a controlled 

substance, drug, narcotic, or alcoholic beverage; 

 

c. Conviction of a crime involving felonious (felony) assault or an act 

of violence; 

 

d. Conviction of a crime involving unlawful breaking and /or 

entering, burglary, larceny, or any offense involving moral 
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turpitude; 

 

e. A history of addiction to alcohol or a narcotic drug; 

    

f. An applicant cannot have been declared incompetent, by any court 

having jurisdiction, by reason of mental disease or defect; or have 

been involuntarily committed to an institution for treatment of 

mental disease or defect by a District Court Judge.  When an 

individual has been treated and found to have been restored by a 

psychiatrist, the PPS board will consider the evidence and decide 

whether the applicant meets the requirements for registration as a 

security guard in North Carolina; 

 

g. A prior revocation by the Private Protective Services Board. 

 

The term “Conviction” implies either a plea of guilty, a verdict of 

guilty or a plea of “no contest.” 

 

 

E. Revocation of a Registration 

 

The North Carolina Private Protective Service Board “may delay, deny, suspend, 

or revoke a license, registration or permit issued under this Chapter if it is 

determined that the applicant, licensee, registrant, or permit holder has: 

 

1. Made any false statement or given false information in connection with 

any application for a license, registration, or permit or for the renewal or 

reinstatement of a license, registration, or permit; 

 

2 Violated any provision of this Chapter; 

 

3. Violated any rule promulgated by the Board pursuant to the authority 

contained in this Chapter; 

 

4. Impersonated or permitted or aided and abetted any other person to 

impersonate a law enforcement officer of the United States, this State, any 

other state, or any political subdivision of a state; 

 

5. Engaged in or permitted any employee to engage in a private protective 

services profession when not lawfully in possession of a valid license 

issued under the provisions of this Chapter; 
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6. Willfully failed or refused to render to a client service as agreed between 

the parties and for which compensation has been paid or tendered in 

accordance with the agreement of the parties; 

 

  7. Knowingly made any false report to the employer or client for whom  

              information is being obtained; 

 

8. Committed an unlawful breaking or entering, assault, battery, or 

kidnapping; 

 

9. Undertaken to give legal advice or counsel, or to in any way falsely 

represent that he is representing any attorney, or he is appearing or will 

appear as an attorney in any legal proceeding; 

 

10. Issued, delivered, or uttered any simulation of process of any nature which 

might lead a person or persons to believe that such simulation-written, 

printed, or typed- may be a summons, warrant, writ or court process, or 

any pleading in any court proceeding; 

 

11. Violated the firearm provisions set forth in this Chapter; 

 

12. Been judged incompetent by a court having jurisdiction under Chapter 

35A or former Chapter 35 of the General Statutes or committed to a 

mental health facility for treatment of mental illness, as defined in G.S. 

122C-3, by a court under G.S. 122C-271; 

 

13. Been previously denied a license, registration, or permit under this 

Chapter or previously had a license, registration, or permit revoked for 

cause; 

 

14. Fraudulently held himself out as employed by or licensed by the State 

Bureau of Investigation or any other governmental authority; 

 

  15. Divulged to any person, except as required by law, any information  

   acquired by him or her except at the direction of the employer or client for 

   whom the information was obtained.  A licensee may divulge to any law  

   enforcement officer or district attorney or his/her representative any  

   information the law enforcement officer may require to investigate a  

   criminal offense with the prior approval and consent of the client. 

 

16. Intemperate habits or lacks good moral character.iii 
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F. Uniforms and Equipment 

 

   

If a “military style” uniform is worn the following restrictions apply: 

 

1. Badges and patches worm must be different from those worn by local law 

enforcement.  They must be worn over the left breast pocket of the 

uniform and on all caps or hats. 

 

2. Over the right breast pocket will be a tag or patch with the words 

“Security Guard” or “Security Officer.”  Over that tag or patch must be a 

name tag. 

 

3. These requirements may be satisfied by simply wearing the Private 

Protective Services Registration Card on the outer most garments, 

excluding foul weather gear. 

     

If the guard does not wear “military style” uniforms, a tag with the words 

“Security Guard” or “Security Officer” must be worn unless this requirement is 

suspended by the Director of the Private Protective Services. 

  

No one while engaged in Private Protective services may wear or display any 

badge, insignia, device, shield patch or pattern which would indicate that the 

individual wearing such a device is a sworn law enforcement officer.  Nor can one 

wear anything that includes the word “police” or the equivalent thereof, or is 

similar in wording to any law enforcement agency in your area.  Vehicles shall 

not display any wording such as “LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER, POLICE” 

or the equivalent thereof, or have any sign, shield, marking, accessory or insignia 

that may indicate such is a law enforcement agency vehicle. 

 

G. Renewal 

   

  Each applicant for renewal of a registration identification card or his or her  

  employer shall complete an online form on the website provided by the Board.  

  This online form shall be submitted not fewer than 90 days prior to the   

  expiration of the applicant's current registration. 

 

III. Conclusion 

 

A. Summary 

 

During this block of instruction, the student has been introduced to the basic 
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requirements to become a security guard.  This includes minimum standards, 

items to be submitted for registration, uniform requirements, and revocation 

issues.  Individuals seeking employment as security guards should be familiar 

with all the requirements as set forth by the Private Protective Services Board and 

the requirements of 74C 

   

B. Questions from Class 

 

C. Closing Statement 

 

The individual seeking employment as a security guard in North Carolina must 

meet standards that have been decided and placed into law.  These standards are 

an effort to promote professionalism in the industry and to hire individuals who 

will bring that professionalism into the industry.  
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 NOTES 

 

 

i. 74C 

ii.  74C 

iii.  74C 

 


