N.C. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission

Advanced Criminal Justice Certificates Awarded
Thirty-seven NCDAC employees receive Advanced Corrections Certificates

Author: Greg Thomas

Congratulations to 37 Department of Adult Correction officers and staff. They were awarded Advanced Criminal Justice Certificates by the N.C. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, during the board’s quarterly meeting.

The Commission created the Criminal Justice Professional Certificate Program in order to recognize the level of competence of criminal justice officers and professionals serving governmental agencies within the State, to foster interest in college education and professional criminal justice training programs, and to attract highly qualified people into a criminal justice career.

Under this program, dedicated officers and staff may receive statewide and nationwide recognition for education, professional training, and on-the-job experience.

Also part of the meeting, was the presentation of Resolutions in Memoriam to the families of four North Carolina Adult Correction officers who died in 2021. This presentation had been delayed by the COVID-19 pandemic.

A true testament to the dedication and professionalism of those in the N.C. Department of Adult Correction.

View photos of the presentations.

N.C. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission



Anson Correctional Institution

Correctional Captain III Wendy Kearns Housley

Correctional Captain III Maranda Collins Mims  


Avery-Mitchell Correctional Institution

Correctional Officer II Zachary Michael Hall

Sergeant Christopher Keith Sparks

Caswell Correctional Institution

Correctional Food Service Manager I Howard Thomas Crabtree, Jr.


Central Prison

Correctional Sergeant III Christine Elizabeth Mangum


Craven Correctional Institution

Correctional Sergeant II Terrence Dwayne Nellums  

Correctional Officer II Paul Clinton Jakemedes


Foothills Correctional Institution

Special Operations Captain James Daniel Goodson  

Correctional Housing Unit Manager III Douglas Aaron Taylor  


Granville Correctional Institution

Correctional Lieutenant III Leon Alfonza Brade, Jr.

Correctional Officer III Lequita Jessimarie Mayfield

Correctional Officer III John Lee Gardner II

Lumberton Correctional Institution

Correctional Sergeant Michael Wayne Atkinson  

Correctional Captain II Crystal Lynn Atkinson  


Maury Correctional Institution

Correctional Captain III Jermaine Shadell Hackney  


Nash Correctional Institution

Correctional Officer II Angela Deloris Battle


NC Correctional Institution for Women

Correctional Housing Unit Manager II LaShawn Denise Holloway-Mitchener

Correctional Officer Teresa Ann Carl

Correctional Lieutenant III Aaron Joy Bess


Office of Staff Development and Training

Correctional Training Instructor II Shameeka Yvette Edwards


Piedmont Correctional Institution

Correctional Officer II Jesse James Bullins, Jr.  

Division of Community Supervision

Probation/Parole Officer LaCarol Mone’ Seda

Probation/Parole Field Specialist Tonya Boyd Woods

Field Training Specialist Jerry Michael Gibbs

Judicial District Manager Jennifer Jones Gallop  

Chief Probation/Parole Officer Erin Patterson Reid  

Probation/Parole Field Specialist Scott Hamilton Boyles

Probation/Parole Officer II Latisha Shaunielle Coston

Field Specialist Meredith Boyd Vesce

Richmond Correctional Institution

Correctional Case Manager D’Andre Antonio

Scotland Correctional Institution

Correctional Lieutenant III Rodney Durand Mungo

Tabor Correctional Institution

Correctional Housing Unit Manger II Cory Delane Collins

Correctional Case Manager Linda Hope Currie-Infante

Correctional Housing Unit Manager II Glenda Jones Jackson

Warren Correctional Institution

Sergeant Quency Alitha Abdullah  


Correctional Lieutenant II Dennis Boykin

Nash Correctional Institution

Correctional Lieutenant III Anthony Hardie

Tabor Correctional Institutional

Correctional Sergeant III Ledell Graham

Tabor Correctional Institutional

Probation and Parole Officer II Julie Ann Harper

Division of Community Supervision

Related Topics: