Probation/parole officers enjoy annual salary increases with a step pay plan.
In your first year of work as a North Carolina probation/parole officer, you will earn $44,099, then after one year of satisfactory employment, your salary will be increased to $46,965. After six years, you will earn more than $64,000.
- Sign-on bonuses up to $7,000
- Competitive salary with annual increase opportunities
- Insurance starting at $25 a month
- Health, vision and dental insurance
- Retirement - state pension
- Paid vacation and sick leave with unused rollover
- Take-home vehicle
- Flexible work schedule
- Longevity and shift premium pay
- Paid training
- Advancement opportunities
- Law enforcement retirement supplement
Months of Experience
FY 2023-24 Pay Scale
To become a Probation/Parole Officer, candidates must:
- Be a U.S. or naturalized citizen
- Hold a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice, correctional services, psychology, social work, sociology or other related human services field from an appropriately accredited institution or an equivalent combination of education and experience.
- Applicants with a Human Service degree, such as Political Science, Social Science or similar subjects must attach a copy of his/her college transcript for evaluation.
- Pass psychological screening
- Pass drug screening
- Pass a background check
- Be able to pass Criminal Justice certification
- Be physically able to perform the essential functions of the job and pass a physical exam
Within 90 days after hire, Probation/Parole Officers must:
- Have a valid NC driver's license
- Live within 30 miles of the county to which assigned
- Remain in county to which assigned for two years
- Reside within the state of North Carolina
Employees must be able to work any shift including rotating, fixed shift or split shift. All shifts may include days, nights, weekends, holidays and mandatory overtime as required.
DAC policy on personal grooming is enforced during basic training. Officers wear their duty uniform every day for class.
"No alcohol" policy. Cell phones, cameras and/or recording devices are not allowed in any building, classroom, gymnasium, or firing range where training is being conducted. Failure to follow the dress code or rules of conduct could result in immediate separation from training and disciplinary action, including dismissal.
Probation/Parole Officers receive six consecutive weeks of basic training and must be in DAC uniforms. They learn:
- The legal system and probation/parole law
- Officer-offender relations, including behavior, counseling, crisis intervention and offender supervision, motivational Interviewing
- Cognitive Behavioral Intervention (CBI)
- Evidence-based practices (EBP)
- Preparation for court participation
- Warrantless searches, drug identification
- Professional ethics and personal conduct
- Administrative, case and offender management
- Defensive protection (CRDT)
- Introduction to the handgun
- Arrest, handcuffing, search and seizure,
- OPUS (offender management database)
- Basic technology training
Probation/Parole Officer candidates go through a thorough application screening process
The Probation/Parole Associate and Probation/Parole Officer jobs are posted the 1st - 20th of each month.
1. All applications are screened to verify the applicant:
- Has a Bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university and the applicant meets the education and experience requirements
- Is at least 20 years old
- Has a valid North Carolina driver license or is able to obtain one within 90 days of employment
- Is a U.S. or Naturalized citizen
- Has never had a DUI or DWI
- Does not have six or more points on their North Carolina driving record
- Does not have any felony convictions
- Is willing to use a handgun
2. A criminal background check is conducted.
3. If there are no disqualifying factors as an outcome of the background check, Community Supervision will schedule the applicant for an interview in the region indicated on the application.
4. If the interview goes well, a more extensive background check will be conducted and references will be checked.
5. The applicant will be emailed to request they take several online assessments and complete a personal history statement.
6. If there is no vacancy in the county selected, the application will remain on file for 12 months from the date the applicant applied.
7. If selected to move forward in the hiring process, the applicant will meet with a regional employment office (REO) representative for further testing and completion of required employment and criminal justice certification forms. During the REO appointment, the applicant may be required to provide documents such as: driver's license, social security card, proof of high school diploma, photo ID, along with a few other documents.
8. Following the REO appointment, the applicant is scheduled to meet with the agency's provider to have a medical examination, psychological evaluation and drug screening.
9. If the applicant meets all agency and Criminal Justice Standards requirements, the applicant is contacted by a Community Supervision representative to establish a start date for employment.
1. How long does it take to have my application reviewed?
The Probation Parole Officer position posts continuously and Community Supervision staff screens applications as they come in.
• Applications are screened daily in the order in which they are received; and
• The length of time varies depending on the number of applications received.
2. How do I check the status of my application?
You can log into the state application website and access your account. Click on your name in the upper right corner, then click “applications.”
3. What does “Under Review” mean?
“Under Review” means that your application has been received and is in the screening or background check process. There is nothing else you need to do.
4. What does “Not Qualified” mean?
“Not Qualified” means that:
The information submitted on your application indicates you do not have the education and/or experience required to meet the minimum criteria;
You checked “yes” to having a DUI, DWI or a felony;
At the time of application, you were determined ineligible to be assigned a state vehicle. Reasons for this include, but are not limited to: having more than 6 points on your North Carolina driver license, not being eligible to obtain a NC Driver License, or any DMV flag or designation indicating you are ineligible to be assigned a state vehicle; typically this flag states “not eligible for school bus certification”. Our department cannot change information obtained from the DMV; if you believe your DMV flag is in error, please contact the DMV to have your NCDL information updated. You may reapply after your situation changes.
You are not a U.S. or naturalized citizen;
Your application is incomplete; or
Your background indicated you are not suitable for the job of a Probation/Parole Officer. You may reapply in twelve (12) months after your application expires.
5. What does “Eligible” mean?
Eligible means that you possess the education and/or experience required for the job. Your application will be forward to the Judicial Division(s) of your choice, who will contact candidates for interview. Counties with a higher number of current vacancies may conduct interviews more often than counties with fewer openings.
6. Can I edit my application once has been submitted?
Your application cannot be edited after submission but if you would like to add/delete your county selection, or submit additional documentation such as a transcript or DD214, please send us an email. You can also update your contact information by logging into the system and editing your profile. Simply click on your name in the upper right corner, then “Profile”. You will need to create a new account and submit a revised application in case of error.
7. How often can I apply?
Applications are accepted for Probation/Parole Officer positions once in a twelve-month period. You may also apply via a Hiring Event posting, but if your application was previously determined “not qualified” under another PPO posting and the reason for that disqualification has not changed, your Hiring Event application will also be disqualified.
8. Do I have to attach documents to my application, such as transcripts or DD 214 Form?
To receive veteran’s preference, we must have your DD 214. To receive National Guard preference, we must have a NGB 23A (RPAS). If you are a former member of the NC National Guard who served for at least 6 years and were discharged under honorable conditions, we must have either a DD256 or NGB 22.
Transcripts are only required if you have a Human Services degree or an unrelated degree that requires us to verify that you have 24 credit hours of related coursework (see question 11 below). Documents may be faxed to us at (919) 324-6250 or emailed to us.
9. When does my application expire?
Applications are valid for twelve (12) months from the date you applied. After that time, you will need to reapply.
10. What qualifies as related work experience to be a Probation/Parole Officer?
The following are examples of jobs that qualify as related work experience. All experience must be clearly listed on your application with start and end dates.
State or Federal Probation/Parole Officer;
Judicial Services Coordinator or Judicial Services Specialist;
Juvenile Court Counselor;
Powers of arrest in either law enforcement or with the military (you must indicate this experience in the body of your application);
Social work experience, drug treatment court counselor, counseling clients/offenders;
Court experience (e.g. police officer, drug court);
Clinical case management with clients/offenders;
Developing person-centered plans or treatment plans for clients/offenders;
North Carolina DPS/DAC Correctional Officer as a Sergeant, Lieutenant, Captain, or;
DPS/DAC Correctional Case Manager/Analyst, Program Supervisor/Director, Unit Manager or Assistant Unit Manager;
Human services counseling experience (adults or juveniles);
Deputy Clerk, or
Master’s degree in Criminal Justice, Correctional Services, Psychology, Social Work or another related Human Services major from an accredited college or university.
Examples of jobs we do not count as related work experience include security or detention officer, food stamps case worker, intake specialist case worker, habilitation specialist, detective, and county/community jailer.
11. What coursework qualifies for the Probation/Parole Officer position?
Some Human Services degrees, such as political science and social sciences, require you to attach your transcripts. Within the coursework for your degree you must have at least 24 semester hours in criminal justice, correctional services, psychology, social work, sociology, or other related human services to qualify.
12. Do my transcripts need to be “official”?
During the application process, we do not need official or certified transcripts. Transcripts are sometimes needed during screening to verify related course work.\
13. What tests will I have to take as part of the application process?
Qualified applicants will be required to log on to a website to access three pre-screening assessments. You will be notified via email with instructions and login instructions. There are no costs to the applicant associated with these assessments. Applicants should allow at least 3-4 uninterrupted hours to complete the assessments, which are:
The “BRAINS” Assessment
Personal History Statement
California Personality Inventory (CPI-260)
14. What happens after the interview?
After the interview, you will receive communication via phone or email regardless of the outcome. If you are selected for a county that has an immediate opening, you will receive instructions on next step(s). If you are not immediately selected or there are no vacancies in your preferred counties, your application will be “banked” for 365 days from the date you applied. You may reapply once your application expires. Unfortunately, we are unable to hire everyone. Should your application expire while you are on the Eligible list, please submit a new application.
15. What are some of the details about PPO Basic Training?
PPO Basic training is an eight-week period, with trainees spending Sunday through Thursday nights on campus, attending classes Monday through Friday. Overnight stay on campus is mandatory, and all meals are provided. Use of a state-owned vehicle is permitted for traveling to/from campus. Trainees are paid for their time spent in training and travel.
All decisions are made without regard to race, color, religion, creed, national origin, sex, age, disability or political affiliation/influence. Decisions are based upon job-related criteria in order to comply with all federal and state employment laws, regulation, rules and policies, and to promote fairness, diversity and integrity.