NC Post-Release Supervision and Parole Commission

Darren Jackson, Chair

jackson headshot

Commissioner Darren Jackson was appointed by Governor Roy Cooper on May 15, 2023, and appointed as Chair in July 2023, upon the retirement of Chairman Willis Fowler.  Prior to joining the commission, Jackson served as a judge on the North Carolina Court of Appeals.  Jackson was a member of the North Carolina House of Representatives for 12 years, serving as Minority Leader for his last two terms. During his time in the legislature, he served on the North Carolina Sentencing Commission and the North Carolina Courts Commission. Jackson practiced law at Gay, Jackson & McNally for 24 years. 

Graham Atkinson


Commissioner Graham Atkinson was appointed by Gov. Roy Cooper on March 24, 2017. He has more than 30 years of service as a law enforcement officer with the Surry County Sheriff's Office, including sheriff from 2006 until his retirement in April 2017. He served as a patrol deputy, detective, narcotics investigator, chief of detectives and county's first DARE officer in 1990. He served on the executive board of the NC Sheriffs' Association for several years, and was president in 2016-17. Atkinson also served two terms on the Surry County Board of Education, including three years as chairman. He is a graduate of Surry Community College and Gardner-Webb University.

Gregory Moss, Jr.


Commissioner Gregory Moss, Jr., was appointed by Gov. Roy Cooper on October 12, 2023. Moss was named to the Commission after serving as an associate general counsel for Gov. Cooper since January of 2020. Before joining the Governor’s Office, Moss was a law clerk for judges at the United States District Court and the North Carolina Supreme Court, as well as a voting rights attorney for the Southern Coalition for Social Justice. 

Haley Phillips


Commissioner Haley Phillips was appointed by Gov. Roy Cooper on April 25, 2022. Previously, Phillips spent six years as a post-conviction attorney at North Carolina Prisoner Legal Services, Inc., representing people incarcerated in North Carolina prisons. She is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania and the University of North Carolina School of Law.